A Wanna Be Leader, But Divided By My Own Afflictions

Hey, I’m new to this, and I’m not sure how to go about this. I am currently in a band where in the lyrics I write, I always talk on a personal level on my own issues about depression and anxiety. Yet, when I talk about these issues they are always present and always affecting me. As soon as I leave that stage of making a speech about personal connection, I immediately turn myself off to anxiety. Any attempt of conversations always fall through, and I feel like a mess, a failure, and most importantly disconnected from those around me. I guess what i’m asking is how do the voices of this site help those on a personal level and take actions towards helping people? I only want to be genuine and use my own experiences to help those who struggle with the same issues that I do. I just want to feel like I made a difference when I leave a venue each night. This disconnection isn’t only on stage, it’s every aspect of my life. I am disconnected from my family and from my friends and i’m terrified of disappointing those around me. Every time someone attempts to get close I just push myself farther away. This has been a struggle of mine for years and I want to overcome this and I want to turn my situation around to help others who suffer the same. Wherever I go depression and anxiety haunts me, and it feels like it will never settle.

Hey Josh, thank you for sharing

From my experience, depression is a constant battle that we will always have to face. We win some days and we lose others. The times we lose can make all our previous victories and efforts feel in vain, but the true beauty in battling depression is rising every new day to fight against it again and strive to be a better person despite what we feel.