Are things going to improve? Or am I really stuck? I feel like crap

I am a mid-40’s guy married with two beautiful children. I had a terrific job that I really loved and was good at and was recruited out of to go to another company. They threw money and more opportunity my way, or so I thought. I lasted 3 months and then finally resigned because I was so unhappy and unsuccessful there.

My old job is no longer available as they backfilled it. I’m now unemployed, again. I’ve been laid off several times in my career and actually made a transition out of being a recruiter to moving more into the field of Customer Success. I have my MBA and on paper my credentials look good. But I’m looking for a job and feel completely worthless.

I’ve been laid off several times in my career, hence my transition over to Customer Success. My wife has never had much confidence in my career choices because she’s had to work outside the home quite a bit to support our family. This makes me feel like complete garbage because I haven’t been able to take care of us myself. She also has made me feel like crap because she doesn’t feel like she can be a good Mom when she’s gone so much.

Now she’s supporting us alone. I’m looking for work and have some prospects/interviews that I’m working on. But she’s so frustrated she’s ready to divorce me. There’s nothing she can say to me to make me feel horrible that I don’t already feel about myself. I’ve always been my own worst critic and, once again being out of work, I feel like a piece of garbage.

I’m so frustrated with this that I’ve contemplated suicide. I have two beautiful boys that are the joy of my life. But if my wife divorces me, I’m ready to end it all. I figure she’s threatened to leave me enough before and has always been so independent that she’ll just find someone else anyway. Twenty years of marriage that this is where I’m at.