I feel so stupid and disgusting

Hi.
So I have a problem.

I’ve been working in the fashion industry for a while now, but I’ve always been the one who shoots stuff, and I have no model experience whatsoever. I met a guy who wants to grow strong into the modelling world, he’s still at the beginning but he has potential. This guy asked me to shoot with him, which is completely fine for me, and since he’s huge on photography too, he asked me to model for him. However I’m scared I’m not good enough to do it.

I’ve never posed for a picture, ever. My ex used to take pictures of me while I wasn’t looking, and even if everyone else was like “oh you look great here” I just can’t see myself that great. I believe I have a stupid face, and the only pictures I can take are those where my face is completely cut off or half-covered.

I seriously don’t know what to do. I feel like I’m just stupid and disgusting in every picture I take, and I don’t know how to do this. The issue is that I have to do this because it’s required from the agency I work in, so sooner or later I’ll have to model myself anyway.

I know this is a stupid problem, but what can I do??

Hey @frapioggia,

Thank you for reaching out! “You are your own worst critic” - and this applies to everyone. Because we’re always around ourselves 24/7, we learn to pick at our tiniest “flaws” - something no one else would ever notice. Everyone is insecure to an extent, some just hide it better than others. Life begins outside of your comfort zone, so I say to go for it!! You never know where this could lead. I wish you the best!!

-Eric

1 Like