Lost a close friend

I’m a volunteer Firefighter down at my local Fire Brigade and whilst in training, one of the new people and I got in to a great friendship right off the bat, which lasted around 3 years. We had everything, well almost everything in common. Even things like our birthdays were the same. It was strange to meet someone so like yourself. It was quite uncanny.
Our friendship developed and more often than not he would see me more than he would his own wife, which I could see was becoming a problem. Apart from doing our Fire Brigade training together, we’d go to Rock concerts, Rugby League games (In Australia) and I’d quite often put on the Barbecue and he’d join for some beers and beef or just generally out for a quiet beer.
At the time he was my best friend or so I thought… After about 2 years, he started to become distant, from texting or calling everyday to texting or calling once a week. During our training which was once per week, I’d bring it up and ask if there is anything wrong, but he would completely deny the fact that there was something going on or that there was indeed something wrong.
It bothered me that he couldn’t talk about it to me, as I thought we were much closer than he thought.
After around 7 months of this going on we got drunk at a party of a mutual friend and I took his wife outside to ask her what was wrong with him and she said “he does this to all his family and friends” I couldn’t accept that so I gabbed him and we went somewhere private and asked him if he honestly still wanted to be mates with me… after 30mins of trying to get it out of him, he finally said No.