My Friends Hate Themselves making me not me depressed again

I feel like I screwed up, My friend/bassist in my band hates himself. I have a friend named Ethan. he harms himself alot. he tells me his problems but this brings me down. I want to tell him to get help but he makes me feel bad but I want to make him feel better and I feel like a terrible friend. I met him at a therapeutic/Learning Disability school before i graduated he moved back home. he was doing fine until recently. he needs to get HELP. I need to not allow him to maniputate me into his therapist even though i have problems myself what do i do

You’re not fucking up.
It’s okay to need to take a step back, you can’t help your friends if you aren’t in a good place yourself. Direct them here to HeartSupport even, there’s alwas a place here.
Have you heard of ReWrite and Dwarf Planet? Both are books released by HeartSupport and are amazing resources. ReWrite focuses on self harm, and has a small work book in the back - it could be good for both you and your friend as there’s a section in there for family and friends too. Dwarf Planet is a work book on feelings of depression etc
Remember, it’s okay to take that step back - your friend might be self harming but he is reaching out for help which is a good sign. You can help him by being there when you feel you can and by looking after yourself. If you can convince him to go and find some help - you can go with him for the first meeting, it makes things so much easier. I’m a self harmer as well, the things that help me are just KNOWING that I have someone there to fall back on even if I don’t have the physical support around me.

Hold fast
Kayla

1 Like

@realtjd,

You’re not screwing up, you obviously really care about your friends!