Persistence despite being in terrible pain

I got it honest and brutal question. How do you stay persistent when you’re in terrible pain? I’m not just a fan of As I Lay Dying material but I’m also a fellow metal musician who has experienced several of their struggles that they
have each individually gone through. I actually have trouble believing in myself despite spending years working on myself. Everytime I wish to go after what might be considered a big dream I’m encountered by several roadblocks the first of which since I come from nothing and don’t come from money or privilege and I’m supposedly mentally disabled that I’m not allowed to or don’t qualify for the dream that I want and that I deeply desire to have. I’m nearly 33 yrs old and have been battling depression and terrible mental pain since I was very young due to enduring various levels of violent and extreme trauma.I’ve survived 98 group home and foster home placements. I still have a deep desire to make a difference with my personal experience with metal music and how it saved my life… I’m not sure if this will be responded to but I really hope so…

1 Like

Hi @andrewjc First off, welcome and thank you so much for sharing your story and your pain with us. We truly care for one another here and someone will post. I am grateful you reached out. We all have suffered some sort of terrible pain here at Heart Support. But yours is unique and you deserve to be listened to. So, thank you for sharing!

It’s so hard to stay positive and persistent in terrible pain. The fact that you have gone through so many homes must be incredibly challenging. But you clearly have a beautiful and strong spirit because you are reaching out for help and you want to make a difference by helping other people. That’s wonderful. Keep doing that.