The Black Dog and My Life

First, let me apologize for the length of this post. Yet, to understand me/my situation all aspects of a person should be explored. Second, I am not intending this to be a source of self-loathing or fishing for compliments, etc. To be honest, I am not sure what I am looking for, perhaps a sounding board will be enough. I have been toying with the idea of seeing a therapist, but only in passing. The same way a student knows that studying will be good for them, but they also know that recess is an hour away and the names nerd and dork are given liberty there.
I have been battling the black dog of depression for years now. I tend to like that metaphor, being something that is tangible. I am thirty-four years old. I have had my share of success and failure through the years. I have a Master’s Degree and a career. I have been married for eight years and we are expecting our first little one this fall. I say these things in hopes that one can see that I have had plenty to be thankful for.
Each year, I go through multiple rollercoasters of hopelessness, resentment, anger, acceptance, and self elated ignorance. I begin to feel the pull of the black dog when I have multiple failures in a short time and there is great stress at work or home. These failures could be as simple as not staying on my eating plan or messing up at work. The failures seem to compact on me until I feel as though I am barely keeping my head above water. This is when the black dog as broken free and is on me. He plays with me as his chew toy for a week or so, never going for the killing stroke. When he is done, I slip into a state of acceptance. The words, “This is how it is and I am only good for paying the bills and nothing more”, run through my head on a daily basis. It may take a few weeks or a month, but I will leash the black dog once more and he will behave for awhile.