This just feels like delaying tactics, not healing

So I’m fighting against pretty long standing depression, and recently developed anxiety.
Depression is the big one though, and it’s been a while so I’ve kind of forgotten what ‘normal’ or okay is supposed to feel like.

I’m a 25y/o musician, artist and friend, a son and a brother, shoulder-to-lean-on to some and have a job I love. I’m currently living in one of my favourite places on earth, financially more stable than I’ve been in pretty much ever, and nothing’s really going wrong at all.

Except it is. It’s all wrong and I feel so cripplingly hopeless, and I just keep sinking into this abyss.

I finally saw the GP about my issues a few months back, and am on antidepressants - with some backup plan tablets to help with panic attacks etc if I need them. I’m seeing a counsellor fairly regularly, and she’s great… fantastic listener and helps me see unhelpful thoughts, she unwarps my head and gives me positive, constructive ideas to get through this and enjoy life. I saw her yesterday and had a great day.

Then today I’m driving home from town, and the suicidal thoughts hit me again. Log trucks and trees start to look real friendly, and I’m wondering just how well these goddamn airbags really work.

And for what?

This whole cycle is never ending. It’s been weeks since I curled up in the fetal position and begged not to exist, or skipped dinner because I couldn’t trust myself around knives. Which for me is a long time, and I’m so proud of these steps and progress I’m making. Last night I had a wholesome, healthy dinner, read a book with some gentle instrumental jazz on in the background and it was sublime… I went to bed relaxed and even slept well, looking forward to my days off and full of ideas for things I wanted to do.