Why are my friends sticking by me?

Hey guys, this is my first post so bare with me as I get used to posting like this. So when I was 6 years old, my dad left for almost a year. I saw him walk out the door after he and my mom were fighting. In that moment I couldn’t really cry because it just hurt too much if that makes sense. After a couple weeks I was telling one of my friends about it and somebody must’ve overheard me saying it and started making fun of me for it. Then it grew to multiple people saying things like “you’re dad didn’t love you”, or “he left because you’re dumb/fat/weird/annoying” and stuff like that. Over the years the bullying changed to just people making jokes about me and talking about me behind my back. But also throughout the years my friends that I’ve known since elementary/middle school are still staying alongside me and I’m a sophomore in high school. I just feel like how I’ve grown and how reclusive I’ve become I don’t deserve to have the friends I have. They are so understanding and supportive, but I can’t give them that level of support and encouragement that they give me. All of them always say that they won’t ever leave me. The feelings are mutual, but I don’t feel I deserve those feelings from them. Whenever I’m having an off day they’re just by my side even though I may not want them there. I love my friends, but I feel that I don’t deserve them and that they can do better than having me as a friend. Now that I only see my mom, my first ever friend, once or twice a week I get upset by somethings more than others. I can believe that they get frustrated with me, but they always forgive me. Like I said I love them to bits and I wouldn’t trade them for anything, but I don’t feel that I deserve to have friends like that. How do I feel like I’m deserving and worth the friends I have? I’ve been trying for years, but the feeling always comes back.

3 Likes

@FaeTheProud