Why I'm here (TW: bullying)

I suppose that we all eventually ask ourselves why we are at any given point in our lives. I’ve asked myself, and the answer is always that I belong there.
My story starts in sixth grade. From day one, I was picked on. Verbal abuse, cyber bullying, you name it. I even at one point had a thumb tack thrown at me. The faculty didn’t do anything about it, so I was on my own. The bullying didn’t stop until I graduated, but I found a way to cope.
I had this classmate with severe depression, and he was pretty deep in a hole. He wasn’t taking his meds, was self harming, etc. A lot of people were kinda off-put by him. I became his friend, and gradually started getting him back on track. In helping him, I was able to help myself. I used my emotions to drive me, and by helping him, I found purpose.
I’ve continued with that. Even now, in my senior year of high school, I keep my ringer up at night so that anyone who needs me can call me, and I’ll pick up, even at 3 AM. I no longer get picked on, and I instead have a whole other sweet of stressors. But more than all else, I enjoy helping people.
I found out about HeartSupport last summer at Warped Tour, and decided to try it out. I clicked right in, and I’ve felt right at home ever since.
How about you all? What brings you where you are in life?

These last several months haven’t been the greatest for me, as my family is in a situation now. Like you, I used to be bullied and friendless, all through elementry school so I kind of grew up socially awkward and junior high it was really hard to meld back into society and learn how to interact with people. High school is much better, but now my family doesn’t want me wearing black so it’s kind of hard there. It doesn’t nessecarily make me feel bad about myself, but I do wish I could wear what I want.
Anyway, a lot of my days are bad, but it always helps to go on heartsupport. I agree, helping others seems to help yourself

1 Like