A letter to 16 year old me…(trigger warnings)

(I’d like to first say that I’m new to this and I apologize if this is posted in the wrong place)

Dear 16 year old Corndog,

I wanted to tell you some of the things you were never told growing up. That you are more loved and important than you realize. I write this close to an anniversary of something that happened, something that you will be blamed for because “you were at the wrong place at the wrong time.” I wanted to tell you that even if you feel your world crashing and crumbling down around you, You’re gonna make it and be okay. You see, “something” will happen at school and as a result, you’ll be expelled despite the fact you are one of the people that “something” will happen to. You’re already struggling because life at home hasn’t been kind. As a result, you consider ending it. So you call your friend who moved away and left you, and you tell them everything, even how they made you feel. They tell your mom, and they also talk you out of it, but they’ll eventually ghost you with no explanation.

So you get forced into therapy with a therapist who doesn’t understand what you need, and it sucks. However, you go to a new school with teachers who may seem harsh, but eventually see that you’re not “one of the bad ones.” One of them even helps you and encourages you, and it’s nice. Life goes on, you get back into your old school and you coast on by til graduation, but there’s so much more I have to tell you about.