Ah... how do i not do something stupid

I have a very strong urge to steal some of my mom’s cigarettes and start smoking. I don’t know why. I just wanna do something REALLY stupid. Like… drugs. Or something else that could potentially lead to getting in a lot of trouble or death. The thing is that I’ve already been addicted to stuff in the past, and I really don’t feel like starting something else, but I REALLY wanna do something stupid and just mess everything up.

3 Likes

Hmm, well im glad you recognize that those things would be dangerous to do! It almost feels like you’re a bit bored with your current life. What other ways could you introduce some of that same excitement without the danger?

2 Likes

To piggyback off of @anon58690617 , I have recently picked up some hobbies that I have never tried before, but always wanted to. It really helped me to focus all my mental energy on something I was passionate about. So, is there something you’ve always wanted to try, that you could start doing now- like learning an instrument or playing a sport?

Honestly not really, I’ve already started doing everything I want to do. I play 5 instruments easily, I draw and animate really well, I’m not a sporty person or anything. I don’t really have anything I want to do that can pick up.

When I was a young teenager I felt urges to start smoking. No idea where it came from. No one in my house smoked. I would dream about smoking and wake up with my throat sore (probably heavy snoring in reality). It wasn’t for self-destructive reasons like you’re describing (though I had those types of urges later in life), it was more about chasing an imagined sensation and satisfying curiosity. Those urges would scare me. I mean, I knew better and had no good reason to have them, where were they coming from?