Alcoholic Father

Hi guys,

So a bomb was sort of dropped on me today. Turns out my dad is an alcoholic and also suffers from depression. I guess I was never really in the know because apparently he’s been sober for most of my life. But it looks like he’s relapsed pretty hard for a few years recently. bad enough even for him to driving under the influence. And I’m a complete novice at being the son of an alcoholic. My parents still live together. Have been married for 30+ years. And as someone just trying to make his way in the world, trying to be a successful independent son, I can’t say that I’m all too aware of what goes on behind the scenes. I learned from my mother that he’s not abusive, and not self harming. But he most definitely cannot control his drinking. And he makes bad calls while impaired. During our conversation/intervention today he’s even said things like: I’ve gone to AA, it works. It also makes him feel shitty that he has to hide stuff like this from family and work. But he’s definitely convinced that the alcoholism is stronger than him. So although it seems like nothing horrible has happened, it’s still a concern for me now that I’m aware. I guess I’m just asking for any tips or anything to help get him going in the right direction that I personally can do. It seems so over my head because he’s the one that taught me the dangers of alcohol and drugs. Without his parenting I’d prob be just like him. So it makes it hard for me to see him being controlled by something he’s so knowledgeable on.

TLDR: Dad’s an alcoholic and medically depressed. As his 26 yr old son, is there anything I can do? Should do? Because I feel so foreign and so lost to this scenario.

Thanks everyone!

1 Like

Hey @Lee!