Anxiety is wreaking havoc, so I'm here to document it and to remind you that you're not alone

Hey everyone! I don’t post here much, but I read all of your posts every day. :wink:

A little about me (that’s relative to this post): I work almost every day. M-F I’m an inside sales representative for a moving company, and I’m a part-time EMT on Saturday and Sunday. I’ve had this schedule for a little over 2 years now, and I’ve been handling it relatively well, given both jobs are semi-relaxing (we have too many reps at my M-F job so once my workload is done I’m usually just chilling around the office, and when I’m not on EMT calls on the weekend, I’m hanging out with buddies around the station). The two primary reasons why I began working so much are #1) I wanted to make money quicker to “catch up” to my peers and #2) When I have nothing to do during the day, anxiety has a “field day” with me. Working dodged this issue, but it absolutely didn’t (and doesn’t) solve it.

Well, I think I’m finally starting to break.

The catalyst to this latest episode was getting turned down (again) after making it the final round of interviews for a new M-F job (being a Partnership Development Representative at a mental health tech company). Since then (last week), it has been a continual spiral downwards in mental health. At first, it was battling negative thoughts. After wrangling those thoughts and combatting them with truth, depression started to calm down a little, but anxiety has continued to absolutely skyrocket. The problem: All of the tools I have in my backpack to combat anxiety aren’t significantly working. Now I’m experiencing nocturnal panic attacks (waking up in the middle of a panic/anxiety attack), so it’s getting a little out-of-hand.

I view anxiety has my brain screaming “something needs to change” - Alas, I agree. A few things I’ve been thinking of changing: