Avoiding feeling and 'existential' embarrassment

hi heartsuppoooooooort.

one quick question before i talk: how do yall effectively avoid feeling your feelings when it feels like that would be too overwhelming? or is it impossible? i know feeling ur feelings is so beneficial but right now it feels like too much.

that being said, im about to feel my feelings a little.

im a senior in college, studying abroad in Germany. I study German Studies and have been learning german since i was a freshman in high school. I have had a ROUGH few months here in germany, as i have already talked about a lot on the forum.

right now i am REALLY struggling with my language skills. i have only made one friend who i went on some dates with before i told him a relationship was actually not in the cards for me currently. He offered to help me and today we met for the first time to work on my language. he asked me how long I had been studying and when I was graduating and I immediately burst into tears. It feels AWFUL telling people that I have been studying this one thing for 8 years and still can’t manage to do it on an even average level. I am NOT senior in college level.

Warning: comparison. There are people my age that know 4 languages but are majoring in some business science field. But German is only my second language and I am majoring in it and still… suck.

First of all, I can make excuses for why i haven’t made much progress (only learned grammar the first 4 years, college was scary, depression, anxiety, being young and unsure, a long relationship that sucked my energy, corona and zoom classes) but that doesn’t change that I am stuck.

my friend asked me how that felt and the most fitting word i could describe was: embarrassed.

i think it encapsulates the internal and external shame at my lack of capabilities.