Burn out - I should have stayed at home

I am currently on sick leave after a breakdown and a diagnosed burn out. Despite I have to do some minor works to keep production running (I am a technical manager)

Today I was asked into office to discuss some changes at the it system, the owner wants to set up a new network, after the original installation is already 20yrs old.

While I was there, one departement manager started to argue with the it support guy and I was totally overwhelmed by the situation. I started sweating, and shaking, with the extreme urge to run away. I went to another office fore a few minutes, but it didn’t go away. I tried to stay calm, and get through with this meeting - basically just nodding to everything being suggested, after I couldn’t think clearly any more.

After the meeting (2hrs) I went home again, still shaking and sweating and layed down to cool of and ended sleeping for 3 hrs. When I got up again, my body ached like a long run, also chest pain, headach - and a feeling that I need to escape all that - not the situation, but my pain, elso the emotional.

I eventually calmed down a bit more, but still, I don’t feel like I can make it through the next few day.

3 Likes

Hi Ish,

I’m sorry to hear about your difficult day. I definitely understand how hard it is to be around people arguing. I personally get like you - I get very tense and nervous, I shake and sweat. For me it also takes a long time to get over these things, usually a day or so. And, like you, I end up feeling very tired, and sore, often with a headache.

For me, I think I get nervous around people fighting because I grew up witnessing physical abuse on my family and there was a lot of yelling in my childhood, so now I automatically go into fight or flight mode whenever people start fighting.