Can't escape the past

So my name is Melissa. I’m 44 years old and have a colorful past, as they say. I’m not exactly sure where to start, so I’m just going to talk. So when I was 33, I tried meth for the first time. Before that I had dabbled in a lot of different things, but with meth it was like a love affair. I was a college student in the process of getting my masters degree in communication studies. What happened was I was betrayed by my best friend, who slept with the guy I was in love with at the time. After that happened, I just thought I needed new friends. And I found them, in spades unfortunately. My life went down so fast and so hard, I can’t begin to explain the hell that is meth addiction. You will find yourself in situations that you never dreamed would happen and you find yourself making choices you never thought you would make. I met my ex fiance during that time, and we eventually got together. What attracted me to him was that he carried himself differently then the tweaker guys I was surrounded by. He was working, he was confident and clean cut. He had just gotten out of prison for 2nd degree murder for a horrible crime that occured when he was 16. I thought I could trust him, but I was wrong. I caught him in a lot of lies, but I stayed because I thought that was what you were supposed to do. But after two miscarriages we were both wreaked. In 2013 he got arrested for getting into a fight with our neighbors and went back to jail for parole violation. Almost a month later, he and two other guys broke out of jail, and I went with him. They caught the other two that night. They caught me and my ex about four days later in salt lake city. I had never been to jail before, but it wasn’t a completely negative experience. But it was a life changing one. It’s been ten years now and I have worked hard to move on, to change. I go to NA, I have been sober off meth for 8 years. But people still bring up the past, and I have a really hard time trusting anyone.