Can't Sleep

It’s almost 2 am and I can’t go back to sleep. I’m going through the hiring process and papers for my new job around 9. I keep on panicking, worrying about this and that…

Someone I’m familiar with is driving me there and I’ve been so shut in that I’m even afraid of him taking me somewhere and it’s just me and him, like I’ll suddenly be in “danger” when he’s just doing a nice gesture of taking me where I need to be. It’s so hard to feel genuinely comfortable with anything

Never had a job before, begged for it to family since I graduated and now I’ve moved out by now and all of these new things don’t stop being scary.

I’m going to be a Teacher’s aide for special needs students, I just hope I don’t do anything wrong…

Everything is so terrifying…I feel so stuck but I have no choice but to go on.

Take care, I hope you’ve all been well. I haven’t visited very often but I think of you guys. :heart:

4 Likes

Hey @itsnotoveryet,

New things are terrifying because we can’t envision how it’s going to be yet. We can’t rely on past experiences to visualize clearly what we’re going to do. What you are experiencing is absolutely normal, even if it’s exhausting. Though you know, even for people who had 1, 2, 5 or 10 jobs already, going to a new work place and having to learn to be familiar with a new environment can be intimidating. We jump into the unknown, so it’s a bit scary at first. However, we then learn to create habits with the places and people we get to know. There is a time of uncertainty and discomfort. But it will be slowly replaced by the comfort of having a new routine in your life. Places and faces will become familiar too.