Don't know my purpose in life - chasing happiness but can't reach it

Hi…I need advice. All I seem to do is worry about work. I am generally obsessed. It gives me a sense of purpose…completing tasks is all that makes me feel…fulfilled. Its messed up I know it and I can’t shake this habit. I finished a master’s degree (couldn’t go to med school cuz of the expenses so I feel disappointed in myself about that) and I have a few friends in med school and feel a bit down or perhaps jealous? However, I know med school would be anxiety provoking as I worry to much. I am going to start a full-time job in a career with a big company and I worry I will become obsessed with work. It will be 9-5 and I can’t stop basing my self-worth on accomplishments. I haven’t ever considered dating because I think, “I am not good enough”. I wake up and am thinking, “what do I need to accomplish today”. I can’t relax or just enjoy living. It’s always ‘what do I need to finish for work’. Its an addiction I have to feel validation when completing tasks, going back to school and getting degrees, etc. I might even pursue a PhD just to feel something…a sense of worth? I literally only base myself off my accomplishments. I am so tired of living this way but have NO idea how to love myself. I literally don’t know how. People tell me I am pretty but I feel not pretty enough, not smart enough, not hardworking enough, I can’t cook good enough, I don’t own a home. UGHHHHH IM TIRED OF LIVING IN THIS FEELING OF NEVER SATISFIED OR IN LOVE WITH MYSELF HELPPPP any advice please!

1 Like

Hi @Eskimo95,