Eating disorder?

I’m having issues eating for some reason? Every once in a while my body kinda shuts down and I can’t really eat, it’s my way to prevent getting sick I guess. I eat the same amount as expected, 3 meals and some snacks, but for some reason that always make me feel sick. I learned at a mental hospital that I’m eating to much for myself, because I started eating about 1 meal a day, spread out, and it made me feel better, what’s going on?

2 Likes

Hey @Alex08 :hugs:

First of all, it’s important to remember that I am not a medical professional and I’m not here to give medical advice.

I’m sorry to hear your eating habits are challenging you at the moment. It sounds like you’ve been to great difficulty in finding a balance that works just right for you, both physically and emotionally. As you’ll know, everybody has a unique relationship with food, and it can have many layers, making it extremely complicated. However, that doesn’t invalidate you.

I understand that it’s frustrating and confusing when eating patterns change, but it’s positive you’ve reflected on this and want to understand. Your description where you say your body shuts down is somewhat concerning for me. There could be many reasons why your having difficulty eating - which could be due to physical discomfort, anxiety or a disorder like you alluded to. Unfortunately, I can’t tell you what it could be, but I do really feel for you.

It’s clear that your body responds better and worse to certain eating habits - such as eating smaller, more spread out meals. I’m happy that you’ve found a routine that seems to work for you. However, these changes seem extensive and it’s always a good idea to consult with healthcare professionals before making any big decisions or changes.