Hate my life and family

I’m stuck living at home with my parents after graduating from college 2 years ago. I do have a decent salaried job in my field I studied in but I still don’t make enough money to have a modest one bedroom apartment in this city…and I make almost $50k a year. This is due to the fact I pay a car bill and student loan each month. Can’t afford $1200 in rent on top of that.

I’ve never gotten along with my parents. Sometimes my mom and I do well but 90% of them time I can’t stand being around her. My father is a selfish, misogynistic, self righteous prick and I have zero respect for him and zero desire to be around him. My younger sister and I have been better together over the years but her OCD and massive anxiety levels get in the way of us enjoying each other’s company often which makes me sad.

Advice would help please. Thanks.

I feel trapped in this house. Every day is another fight. I never not feel tense and on edge in this house. I feel like there is no escape for me and I’m losing my sanity. I have been having massive manic depressive episodes and often have suicidal thoughts, though I don’t think I’d ever go through with suicide. All I want to do is cry and feel sorry for myself. I don’t know what to do. Being stuck in a house with people you hate being around is so fucking hard. I’m losing my mental stability each day. Therapy hasn’t helped much either which scares me.

1 Like

Hey Linds,

Man that sounds rough. I can certainly relate to the hardships of trying to make enough to live in our own place. Currently staying with parents, myself so we can save and get on our feet. (Partner’s parents)