Helping in the moment

Hi.

So I have some friends who will shut down and not talk about what’s going on when there dealing with there mental health.

I will be there in the moment with them but I’m not sure how to help. I have friends who have depression and I think one that has PTSD. They don’t want to get help when I suggest seeing a professional

How do I help them in the moment even tho I’m not a professional but still be there with them in the moment?

7 Likes

Hi @Legacylex I think the best thing you can do it just be there to listen. You can ask them what you can do to help support them as well. Everyone needs something different. I’ll give you this page too, so you can get some more ideas. It’s so awesome that you try to be there for your friends :hrtlegolove:

This is helpful to.

5 Likes

Hey @Legacylex its really nice of you to try and help your friends. I used to do what they did and just shut down and not talk to my friends about it even when they knew something was wrong. The best advice I can give you is just continue to be there and just listen and try to help when they want it because sadly if they don’t want it they won’t take. Now that’s not to say don’t check in on them. That is what I wanted even though I was shutting down. Just continue to be there for them. That’s the best advice I can give

3 Likes

it is tough to help and not feel like you get a response or see any change… Don’t fret! Even if you do not know it, you actually are helping them just by being there. We don’t always have to feel like a professional to give professional advice. Sometimes it’s best to just listen and be there for them when they need you. That can do wonders … more than a professional in some cases. I believe in you and I truly hope your friends can get the help they need. Much love and light to you and your friends!!

2 Likes