How did I get here

It just seems so strange that I managed to accomplish anything at all. I have been really questioning myself lately though. I’ve been seeing this guy and I don’t know if I should let him know about my past. I also feel like experimenting with him by telling him about me having schizophrenia to see if he’s gonna ditch me. I studied in Europe before transferring to the Caribbean to get my medical degree and now I feel like I should have gotten more experience with guys so that I wouldn’t always see taking a big step as an experiment. Now I am preparing to take more exams to get my license to practice in the US. I sort of have been on my own all this time because I was just diagnosed last year and I stopped taking medication because the side effects are really bad and now I want to get alternative treatment but it’s just too damn expensive. I know I need a lot of treatment but I don’t know how to deal with that, knowing I can’t afford it. My pride won’t let me ask my mom for money because I feel she should offer me instead. Sometimes I feel like failing the exam just so everyone can be worried about me but maybe that’s just a psychotic idea. I really don’t want to fail though so I’m just trying my best to study when ever my symptoms let me.

1 Like

Hey @Rosey

Depending on how long you have been seeing this guy for you should be completely honest with him about your past when you two are at a comfortable place in your relationship. It is a big step to talk about it and the fear of him ditching you will continue to repeat in your head until something is done.

Your guy friend should know what is going on in your head a little bit regarding this and might know a way he can help. Remember friend that both of you are in this relationship together for support and compassion even while you are taking your exams. Consider taking a semester off from school so that you can have the time to seek the appropriate treatment.