I can't afford my student apartment. (I'm not asking for money, just venting.)

Hi everyone, new here. I just need to vent.

Anyway, I am a college transfer student. I am transferring from a community college to a small university in a few days. I was living in a very abusive home while in community college. It was a full on trap house with different heroin/meth users in and out daily. Someone even overdosed a few weeks ago. I had basically lived like this my entire life because this is my family I am talking about. It’s exhausting trying to make it through college when I was always on panic mode. I was exposed to death threats and HIV almost daily. The AC AND plumbing didn’t work properly either. My house would get so insane that I would have to find empty classes to sleep in every week.

I decided to save as much money as I could to get a student apartment at my new school. Everything was going good, I saved everything I made at my work-study job and received a couple stimulus and cares act checks. I had done all the calculations and was convinced I would be able to afford a one bedroom student living apartment that is only 10 minutes from campus. (Walking to campus is a big thing for me because I don’t have a car.) I was led to believe by the apartment management I needed to sign my lease ASAP because they were filling up quickly. I signed and paid my deposit in February.

I was so sure I would be getting a refund from my financial aid this school year like I had at community college. I know university is more expensive than community but I genuinely thought that meant I would get even more. I just found out yesterday not only am I not getting a refund, but I owe THEM $2,000. It’s…fine I guess. I don’t know how I could have been so stupid. No one told me this would happen.