I Cant i just don't belong

I can’t get myself to write this . I’m some 19 year old who should have everything figured out . I’m in my first year of college attempting to get my associates , then my bachelors for teaching ESE kids and special needs kids (but also know sign language just in case). Some times i just wish i was normal , perfect, having her own issues non-existent . If that makes sense.
Whats making this post so hard to type is that when i just want to poor it all out i cant . I just cant feel better . I just cant realize that i need to poor my feelings out. I don’t want to keep my feelings to my self . Lately my mind has been mentally beating me up . Telling me to kill myself . I am almost 2 years clean from self harm . SO why now does my mind want me to go backwards.
Anyways, The point of posting this is because today i saw my grade from my American Sign Language Midterm and i immediately not happy because i thought i did so well . I even studied for it and i still got a 62% how just how. I even remember the night before getting told to tell my professor if i could do get a little extra time after class to do the test or something because of my auditory processing disorder. Yet i didn’t listen because i just wanted to fit in i just wanted to be treated like a “normal” student. When i was done , i thought i did well . i thought it was easy . but i guess not . and since then i feel like I’ve mentally beat myself up by thinking/feeling like would i do better if i was perfect if i was normal. I’m sorry that I’m neither. I just wish i was perfect and normal.

1 Like

Ashley,

Your intentions are very kind and teaching kids is a wonderful thing to do.
A test doesn’t define you, it’s only a measure of what you know right now at this very moment. Think of it as you know way more ASL than you did when you started.