I don't see a future for myself

I’m in my final year of school. Next year, I’m going to be living at home with my parents for another year because my predicted grades were too low for me to even considerer applying to uni. All of my friends are going. I attend a grammar school, so academic success is something both valued and achieved consistently by other pupils, and I don’t mean this lightheartedly; two people in my English class of fifteen have offers for Oxford and I’m pretty sure that at least four of them applied to Oxbridge.

I’m the worst student in the school. I achieve consistent Ds and Es and the occasional U. I never hand in homework: it’s always too daunting and I’m always so so tired and there’s so much time in a day but I feel like I spend it all in this grey state of inertia. I’m one huge inconvenience. I stayed up all night on English coursework yesterday, the day before it was due, which was the most motivated I’ve been in months, and ended up skipping my catch-up French oral exam out of pure exhaustion. My teacher cornered me and he was so so angry and clearly tired and done with my poor conduct and I realised in that moment that I’m the worst person and genuinely inconvenient and I’m just not sure that I should still be doing this. I was glad that he was angry. All my teachers just give me extended deadlines and tired sympathetic smiles and this is the first time in a while that a teacher’s treated me the way I deserve to be treated.

I struggle a lot with anxiety and, a couple of weeks ago, I was too anxious to check my emails and so didn’t see an email the school sent me about counselling, telling me to reply within 24 hours if I wanted to stay on the list. School counselling was the last means through which I could talk through my issues with another human being and actually vent and receive advice and support. Now, I’m completely alone in this.