I feel like I can't better myself for my sister, and it's causing me to lose hope

This is my first time on here. I came here, because I feel like I have no one or no where else to turn to for this. This is mainly about me and my sister, and how my behavior is making her feel horrible. It makes me feel horrible too. But every time I try to harness strength to be a better person towards my sister, I fail. I fail, because my anger issues have been getting the best of me since I was a little kid. I struggle with high-functioning Autism and Depression, as I have been officially diagnosed with both just a couple of years ago, when I was 17. I was previously diagnosed with Autism alone when I was 3. But now, I’m 19, and my sister just turned 10 last month. I know she’s just a kid that’s still growing, and I don’t disregard that in any way. We just argue so much, and our behavior just never improves. Call me childish, call me a man-baby, call me whatever.

I don’t want to disclose the reasoning behind my anger issues and depression, because it is all irrelevant. My anger is always getting the best of me in between myself and my little sister, and it’s putting a major strain on our relationship. I fear that if it keeps happening, something very ugly would unfold, and I would have no choice but to bear the blame. I deeply love my sister, but I feel like I shouldn’t even love myself at all. I’m toxic, I’m sick, I feel like I hurt people way too much, and I’m starting to lose hope in myself as a person. Often times, I feel like my sister’s life would be better without me. I want to better myself, I want to have the strength, but I don’t. I feel like I can’t show my true emotions to my sister, because I feel like they don’t matter to her. But I don’t expect that at all.

Do I really not have the strength to better myself? Am I just being lazy?

2 Likes

Hi thorvoodam,