I have it all and I have nothing

Panic attacks every day sadness depression suicidal thoughts and crying. I have the american dream but feel I have nothing. I’m embarrassed to seek help I work in the medical field and feel they write me off as a lunatic. This health system sucks for people with mental health and addiction problems.

4 Likes

hello there,

Thank you for trusting us here to open up and share your feelings. I am truly sorry that it has been so difficult for you to be able to open about how you’re really doing. This has been a rough tie for those in your field, hasn’t it? We’re here to listen to you, to love and support you as best as we can. Having everything on the outside is not a guarantee that all our emotions and brain chemicals will remain perfectly balanced. While I will say it’s not embarrassing to seek out mental health support, I also come from a place where it is very misunderstood as well.

Please do feel free to unburden yourself here, and maybe we can help you in some ways to make it all a bit more bearable. Glad you’re here with us, and looking forward to interacting with you more!

1 Like

It really is inadequate. The American dream should relate more to a person’s happiness and well-being, than material or financial status. I was in the medical field for a long time. I made decent money, but there were times when the stress just about did me in. The effects of stress can be insidious, kind of sneaking up on you. You might not even know how stressed you are or how it’s affecting you until it’s overwhelming. As a medical provider, you are not allowed to be overwhelmed, as lives are depending on you. So, if you are like me, you forced yourself to keep it together, until you were away from work, then let yourself melt down.