I know this probably isn't a reason to get upset but

My long nail broke! I’ve been growing them out for about 4 months now. And one of them cracked and I feel absolutely distraught now. I have to cut them all down and start over. I’ve been trying to get them to be long because I think long nails are pretty. I wanted to make them sharp too, kinda like vampires. And it takes so much work and I’m upset cause I really wanted pretty nails and it feels like my day is ruined. Now I have to wait another 4 months to get them back cause they were pretty long already! I almost beat my record from last time. And I cried when I had to cut them last year. This is highly frustrating.

5 Likes

I used to keep my nails all dolled up when I was younger. I know how you feel because I have this rule that all my nails have to be the same length; if one breaks they all get cut. It’s frustrating when you’ve let them grow for so long and then one breaks for sure.

After I had my son, I stopped growing them long because I didn’t want to scratch him.

Now, I keep them pretty short. It’s just easier that way. It’s really not worth my energy to be upset about because they are just fingernails. Whenever they grow, they break… it’s life. Something you just have to accept to be honest.

Feel your emotions because they are valid, but then decide that it’s not going to ruin your day. This isn’t something you can control and will most likely happen many more times. Don’t let it destroy you each time.

Added in later…

I don’t know how you feel about press-on nails? Is that an option? Personally, the only time I ever used them was at my wedding. I just thought I’d ask.

4 Likes

I feel this deep in my soul- I’m growing my nails out too, because it makes my hands look prettier. they’re a decent length now, but I’m constantly anxious one of them is gonna break! i got very upset the last time i had to cut them all short; i don’t like how my hands look with short nails.