I’m not sure what to do or think

Hello Everyone. :wave:t2:
I’m new to the form, just wanted to pour my heart out and express what I’m feeling and going thru. Maybe gets advice cause I’m not really sure what to do or think or how to act anymore.

I have a friend I made over the Internet a year ago, who has gone thru a tough time in school with bullying, and has a rough time with one of their parents. Over the past year they have threatened their life on more then one occasion, which I stopped them, I’ve tried being a support system and also tried talking to them about getting professional help.

I have been there go to, and I fear that I’m the only one they talk to about these things, and it’s a lot for one person to handle, especially since I deal with my own problems and mental health such as depression, anxiety, ptsd, bipolar, and few others. I’ve expressed my concern and things got better for awhile, it seemed like they were getting better and all of sudden it just switched where they are in tears crying to me about how they feel, saying their worthless, and so much more. It pains me to see them in so much pain, but now it’s started to take its toll on me slowly. It’s exhausting being the strong one for someone, when I already do that for my own family that I’ve been creating together with my SO.

I don’t want to be rude or hurtful or harmful to them. But I feel like I’m drowning and have this huge weight on my shoulders that isn’t mine to hold. They call me an idol, role model and such for them… but I’m only human I have flaws. Idol is a very very scary word.

There’s more to the story, I kept deleting this and rewriting it cause I wasn’t sure if I should even write this. So I’m taking a leap and just posting it :grimacing:

I just don’t know what to do, think or how to act anymore.
I feel like I’m losing myself trying to help them and keep their head above water.

4 Likes

Hey, friend!