I’m turning into a townie/ living my paranoid parents

For past two nights I been feeling anxious and depressed. I have decent job that pay well with benefits, but don’t feel comfortable to move out my parents. It feel like I’m trap stick in someway, rent and own a house In Massachusetts is a joke.

I work as a janitor in school system and it just trap in same town and same people. I have a few friends, but I feel I’m old grow them or I’m too immature for them.

They just save money, never really go out or go to show or go leave New England. One friend is trying save for condo, which don’t wrong that really he been reasonable and being an adult.

However, I feel I’m just existing, never traveling or living life. It suck I have anxiety even driving an hour away some where. Or if by myself in house at night. Even taking a train into Boston causes a lot anxiety.

I feel I’m just existing, not living.

3 Likes

Hey metalskater, well I certainly do relate to the feelings of just existing. The cost of living has definitely spiked a ton and it can be extremely difficult to make it work on your own. You mentioned sometimes you feel anxious even when you’re t home by yourself, would you ever feel comfortable moving in with housemates? Or are you feeling safe where you are for the moment?
What kind of hobbies you enjoy? What is something that you’re looking forward to coming up?
Sometimes taking focus off the everyday mundane things helps make it feel like you’re moving towards something.

Dude, moving out is terrifying. Even if you lived away before and moved back home, moving out again is still terrifying. I want you to know that being uncomfortable leaving your parents is totally okay and normal.