I need advice please

I am not sure where to begin and I will probably ramble. I am struggling. I have recently had an opportunity fall into my lap, a great one. All I have wanted is the opportunity to help others, and now I have that. I am a volunteer firefighter now. It has helped me a lot this last month to the point that I haven’t had to use this app. I have found a family in the fire department, and gained the ability to help others which greatly helps my mental health. But it is volunteer so I am not paid. I currently got hired at fedex, and I can not keep up with the pace they require, but I also can’t afford to take another job that pays less than $14 an hour. I have no real training or education so finding a good paying job is difficult. I am beginning to believe that it is too late for me to turn my life around. Because I am 31 and still working jobs that someone right out of highschool can get. I don’t know what to do. I haven’t been a volunteer long so it isn’t easy for me to open up to them. This is the only place I can turn to. I finally have the opportunity to do what makes me happy and I fear I will have to give it up, simply because I can’t find a decent full time job.

6 Likes

Even if you get dragged away from what you love because of money, you still need to work hard to keep it. If you get dragged away, fight to bring yourself back there again. Trust my words, I know what it feels like to find a family, and then be dragged away like that. I’m still fighting for it. So don’t give up, beleive it. Even if you lose your job, even if your life breaks, never stop fighting for the family you have found, if it’s what really means to you.

Keep Holding On :orange_heart: - Pengyou

6 Likes

Hey there Hoderi,

First of all thank you so much for choosing to give back to your community. I think it is a wonderful thing and it will open new opportunities for you if you keep at it.