I think I scared away my best friend

I have a kind of newer friend that I really like. They make me feel safe, I can talk about anything with them. I’m still learning about them cuz we don’t know each other super well yet. I get very attached to people that I want to be like and look up to. I think they just realized that I’m clingy and either that scared them or they think I have a crush or something on them, which I don’t. I think of them as sibling or a best friend. I just feel like I alienated one of the only people I have that makes me feel happier. Now I’m fighting myself for wanting to pull away from them so they don’t think I’m crazy or weird, because I really want to stay friends with them. I don’t know how to act around them now and I don’t want to make both of us uncomfortable.

1 Like

Why do you think you’ve scared them away?

I would suggest saying like, “I really like you and want to be good friends because I like hanging out with you. I’m sorry if it comes off as clingy.” or something similar, just to be open about your intentions.

As for not knowing how to act, be yourself and whatever is natural (but nice).

2 Likes

Idk, I said something about really liking them and it came out wrong or they took it the wrong way I guess and they kind of looked at me like I was weird for what I said and the way they reacted kind of made me feel like they thought I like them. We’re both in long term relationships (we’re opposite genders if that wasn’t clear)