I’ve lost my happiness

Today I worked from 3PM-10PM, and i have to be back at work in under six hours. I work at Walmart, and every day I spend there makes me more and more miserable, because I feel like it’s another day of my life wasted, providing myself with zero satisfaction or fulfillment. I would quit, but if I did that it’d result in another argument with my Mom. Almost everyday getting up is a chore, and I often lie in bed for two hours after I wake up dreading the day ahead, and at night I don’t like to go to bed because I’m scared of waking up the next day. Most days I want to call into work, but when I tell my Mom she gets upset.

I graduated from highschool this year, and worked two jobs before then, one retail, and one as a janitor at my old school. I’m starting college in the Spring, psychology, but I’m not sure that’s what I want to do, what I really want to do is write, but I’m far too scared to admit that to my family, because I know they’d try and talk me out of it.

Walmart gives you a boxcutter when you work there, and on one end of it there’s a very dull blade, and I walk around my department all day poking myself in the thigh with it, not enough to cause any damage, but enough to hurt… And I fantasize about actually doing it, cutting myself, and then “accidentally” letting someone see, because then maybe they’d see how bad I’m doing. One day before work I told my Mom that I’d been having suicidal thoughts on and off for the past few years, and that they’d been worse than ever lately, and one of her first responses was “Well wouldn’t going to work help you feel better?” “Are you sure you don’t want to go to work?”