In A Dark Place, Without Limbs. Just Left To Die

Warning: I’m not a native speaker, so I apologize for my lack of English. I will try my best to make my words easy to understand.

I am a 19-year old girl, living in a tropical country, around South-East Asia. Right now I study in a university famous for its smart graduates. People here are geniuses, and the competition is happening almost everyday. I’m studying art and design, and for this job, we need ideas for every works we designed. It’s almost a stressing job, due to the high standard and expectations from the teachers that are grading our arts. I’ve been diagnosed with depression and I’m having trouble to concentrate or focus on certain thing for a long period. I’m having trouble to understand the subjects and most of the time I don’t have good grades. Just averages.

My father is a person that always has high expectation for education. He’s the one who teach my big brother back then. But, as mostly Asian parenting method, the method is not as soft as it should be. Almost every night my father accompanied my brother to study and would hit him with belt if my big brother ever made mistake, even for the small one. As a child, I remembered I’ve almost got treated like that but I begged to study with someone else outside. And so I’ve gotten myself into a home-course.

I loved my big brother. I grew up most of my childhood with him. But right now, after several mental abuses and physical abuses made by my father, it ruined my brother’s whole life. He began to rebel to my father, ran from home, made problems with police, and others. His life now is just living inside his room with his computer, phone, game and smoking cigarettes.