Instagram Fan #27

a year and a half ago I decided to joing the U.S. Army right out of high school. I had no place else to go. College wasn’t an option because my G.P.A. was so low. Right when I graduated basic training, my grandfather passed away. That hit me hard, because I wasn’t able to go home and see him before hand, and I wasn’t able to go home for his funeral. I went to AIT one of the hardest courses in the army. I started to get depressed because I was away from home and i didn’t have any of the distractions from my inner demons that I had in basic or at home. I was able to go home for Christmas in 2019, but when I came back I started to feel down again. I wasn’t able to see many friends and many of them didn’t want to see me. Towards the end of January, I had lost one of my families best friends, he was like another father to me. His death hit me way harder than my grandpas. I started spiraling into depression. The stress of the course, death and COVID and no way to distract myself other than class and music. I went to the chaplain and started talking to him about all this that was going through my mind, and he didn’t know how to handle my situation. I started cutting on my thigh, the few I could really trust tried to helpme but they didnt know how to help becuase I didnt know how to talk about what I was feeling. One of them ended up taking my knife from me. Which now I was thankful for. Fast forward to now, I graduated from my AIT course and will leave for airborne training soon (airborne is learning how to fall out of planes) then Im off to Ft. Bragg. I’m scared for what is to come within this next year. How will I do in the face of new hardships? Will I face them head on, or will I cower away from them? Will I be ok with the choices make? Will I make myself proud of who I am? I don’t know. I don’t want to lose myself through all of these hardships. I’m scared of who I may become. Im scared of the world around me.

3 Likes

Hey friend,