Is it too late to change profession at 26?

I am 26 years old, and I feel a little bit stuck in my life right now.

In past 7 years, I have been constantly busy working/going to two universities. When I graduated from my last uni, I got a job abroad, and have been working there for a year and a half. When Covid started, I got let go, and had to come back home.

This was pretty devastating for me, since now I am back with my parents, no job, no money, and no motivation. I started to question myself is what i do REALLY what I want to do? I was thinking of starting an online business, but for years I dont know where to start no matter how many videos, or google pages i go through.

I have been wasting months, literally not doing anything since I am so unmotivated, which gets followed with strong anxiety and what feels like depression.

Before covid, I really thought I finally started doing well for myself, but then when I lost my job, I genuinely dont know how to pick myself up, and what to do. Even though I work in IT industry, I am surprised of how hard it is for me to find a new job.
Is it my skill? Is it me? Is it covid, really?
How do I find motivation to improve my skills, instead of sitting around all day watching Netflix?

I am scared that it is too late for me to do anything, and that I am a failure since at 26 I am back with my parents with 0 dollars in my pocket, and I dont know how to restart or move on.
It feels like there is this overwhelming amount of shame that comes with starting from scratch and being a beginner in something at this age.

6 Likes

It’s never to late to start something new, don’t look at it so much as starting over, because you’re not starting from scratch. Whatever you decide to pursue, you will be taking your past job and university experience with you and building on. Sometimes in life we have set backs or we change or outgrow what we once were, it’s okay to start something new to accommodate our lives.

1 Like