Learning to talk

Umm I’m new to talking about my mental health. I meannive talked about it to a dr and a few people but not alot. I was told I probably have bi polar disorder but tr truthful I like chickened out of going to see a dr to be told a its bi polar. Like idk somehow having a disorder diagnosis on paper makes it worse. I’m struggling though. Made a decision to try and help my mom out of all people. Now I’m moving into my girlfriend’s with her and her mom. I lost my car, and most of my money. Had to get rid of all my pets because I had no where for them to go. So now at 26 I’m like starting over and idk it’s a hopeless feeling scary. I’ve been off any meds cause i cant afford them right meow so maybe that isn’t helping but ya i just wanted to have a place to idk put my thoughts down this community seemed good place to start

3 Likes

Hi friend. I hid for years because I didn’t want to face being diagnosed either. A lot of that came from because my family (moms side) are all mentally ill and toxic. A lot of them were bipolar and so I identified it being this HORRIBLE thing that I never wanted to be like. But it isn’t the fact they were bipolar that was so horrible. It was the fact that they didn’t try to get help or get treated. They didn’t do anything about it.

It was hard on me when I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder but I learned about it and I got help for it. I got on medications to help balance my moods. I got anti anxiety and anti depression medicine. I saw a therapist and a psychiatrist. And that helped me learn how to balance it. How to handle it. It doesn’t have to be this bad thing that controls our life. We can get a handle on it and still live happily and be okay. Being bipolar doesn’t define who you are. It’s part of you and yes something you have to look after so it doesn’t consume your life, but you are not your disorder. There’s more to you.