Life after graduation

I haven’t wrote on here since my depression was pretty bad that was over a year ago, I went from my first time cutting to almost cutting every single day. I stopped cutting considering my family found out. I been clean for awhile now and my scars have mostly all disappeared. I graduated high school and all that stuff but I’m back here. I keep asking myself why am I back on here. I keep thinking of just stabbing myself in the arm repeatedly over and over again but I don’t know why.

4 Likes

Hi there, nice to meet you!

First of all, so much to congratulate you on - for graduating, for going so long without any SH! Thats a great accomplishment.

Has anything changed recently that is making you feel lost or powerless?
Did you use any sort of coping or distraction tricks in the past when the urge was strong?

I’m glad you came back when you need the extra support.
Take it one moment at a time.

Have you tried any of these: Get outside, do some breathing exercises, grounding exercises?

Wishing you well friend. It can get better - you were already there.
Life can get hard sometimes and make us fall back into our old “coping” habits, but there are better ways to exert control and power over our lives.

1 Like

Hi Lillian,

Why did you stop before?

What kept you from doing it long enough for your scars to heal?

What did you learn about yourself during that time?

1 Like

Hey, I stopped cutting, cause I didn’t want to see the look on my mom face again, she was upset and I tried and tried, after that I day I decided I would never cut so deep to where it would leave a scar only just enough for me to feel something. Another reason was because I wanted to go to the navy and knew with my scars that I wouldn’t be able to, but now it hard for not to think about while I’m watching tv or hanging out with friends it’s just always there in the back of my mind.

1 Like