Long term burnout

Hello everyone,
I am recovering from long term burnout and weirdly feel guilty for it. I recently cut down on alot of work.I quit one of my jobs. I started working more on running business out of my home (I’m a movement therapist). I’m also a dance instructor. Right now I feel so lazy. A year ago, I was training in dance up to 15 hours a week, working at a day job, and hustling at a night club. In December I got maybe three days off total. In January I got one day off. I have been working my behind off for a year at all physical jobs. Three weeks ago I took off. Then called quits on my day job last week. It’s been three weeks without excessive work. I started working on a website but I’m not motivated to rush to finish it. I’ve been reading, working on art, doing yoga, taking ballet classes. But I can’t seem to get myself to get in the right mindset to work more. I’m telling myself I’m recovering. I also just feel guilty for it. Life is now super slow compared to before. I enjoy just being at home but maybe I should get out. I teach dance tonight which is nice so I’ll keep busy. I think I’m also going to sign up for a reflexology course to get out of the summer heat and hopefully get motivated again.

4 Likes

Hey Rosethorn!

I relate to this a lot. Feeling like I need more things to do that are constructive or meanningful. Feeling guilty in idle time, but with too much on my plate I get overwhelmed by all the things I have to do. Is something I have been feeling a lot lately. I really just wanted to stop in here to say that I see you, and relate. I even recently re-launched a website. The slowness when you are used to such a strong and busy routine is probably tough. I’m the opposite in that way. I am building my first strong routine for the first time, the more I am free from my recovery the more I can. The down time from being well is what gives me idle time in my schedule. I hope you feel better! Much Love.

1 Like

Hey friend,