Loss of my best friend

Hello Heartsupport,

Id like to open by saying this is my first time here, so apologies if I may not understand how this platform works quite yet. I came here because over the past few years I’ve really grown to love august burns red as a band, and after learning more about Jake and the band in general, found that I truly support the message that they try to send. I had overcome previous mental health problems before learning of them and thought that this was a cause worth supporting. I did not, however, think that I would find myself circling back here in my current state.

Last Monday (3/29/21) I received a call from my best friends older sister who I haven’t talked to directly in about 3 or so years. Getting strait to the point, she was reaching out to inform me that my childhood best friend had died in a car crash earlier that morning. He was only 23 years old. I dont know where i would even begin to try to explain how important and how much he meant to me to a bunch of strangers. While I may not know how to give this insight, I can however express how I am currently doing.

In my past, struggling with anxiety, depression, a near suicide attempt, loss of other family and friends, alcohol addiction, ect…This has been by far the hardest thing I think I’ve ever had to deal with in my life to this point. My past experiences have made me a stronger person, and I think without them I would not be able to even reach out to anyone like this.

Thankfully many of the people who are close to me have given me the level of support I need and try to help cope. Im not even sure what Im looking to gain from posting here, but hopefully you all might.