Minor health troubles

So I went to the doctors today and they told me I need to gain weight (16 lbs…) and that could be the reason that my periods are so irregular (a little tmi, I know). The thing is Im not good at the whole weight gain thing like at all and everybody in this culture glorifies losing fat and cutting down on pounds and dieting and I feel so alone. I have no interest in food and gaining that much weight even though I only weigh 94 pounds (im about 5’4") it makes me feel scared and insecure but if I dont my health is potentially at risk… Part of me thinks i may even have ARFID or the start of it. Im just…scared…for so many reasons.
Thanks for listening/reading whoever clicks on this, I appreciate it.

1 Like

Star my friend I am so sorry you are dealing with this. That extremely hard to deal with. I personally do have ARFID its not easy to handle and to learn to be okay with living with it. You arent alone tho. Yes I agree if your doctor is encouraging you to eat stuff than that would be wise to do so. I am sorry you are fearful of this but just know that you arent alone in those feelings I have personally dealt with them too. That desire to not eat is extremely hard. For me personally I had to find foods that worked for me as a safety foods aka foods that I will eat even when I dont feel like eating or dont have the desire to eat. So perhaps find something that is like that. For me it was bagels and cream cheese. Yes I still have my days I dont want to eat that but I will try to eat it. Its not easy but there are a bunch of resources. I know a few of the people I have connected with are on Instagram I would love to help share some of the info with you on that. For me my weight has always been an issue I am on meds now that help with my mental health so I can more or less focus on getting to a good point but sometimes we just have to take the steps we can to be the best we can. Know that you are not alone in this and we are here for you.

1 Like