Moving in with boyfriend... How do I tell my parents

I am a college student in a small town and I’m 20 years old, my boyfriend and I have been dating for over 3 years now, and we want to move in together for many reasons (it’s cheaper, we feel ready for it, etc). His mom is supportive of the idea, and I have no idea how to tell my parents. My parents are very strict roman catholics, and the idea of me moving in with him while I am unmarried is unthinkable to them. I need to tell them sometime soon because this is a sure thing, and I really don’t want to be cut off from my parents. My brother had this same issue when he moved in with his girlfriend, and didn’t tell my parents until they were already living together… That is not how I want this to go… I want to be respectful and clear. I just have no idea how.

4 Likes

It’s hard. It’s uncomfortable. There is no avoiding that, there’s no sugar coating it, you’ll just have to tell them. The key word there is tell, don’t ask if it’s okay, because you know what that answer will be. There are people twice your age who move in together with less forethought and wisdom, who move in together because “well…I mean…” You’ve been with him a long time, you seem to have thought this through, you’ve made your decision and you get to own it without being beholden to anyone. You’re right, being straightforward and honest is braver and more mature than doing it and just letting it be. Just one word of caution, if they’re supporting you financially they may hold that over your head. Good luck, I hope it goes well, and I hope your future with him is blessed.

4 Likes

Hey @diz,

I agree with @SheetMetalHead it is it about informing them, not asking them. And of course you can do that respectfully, as smooth as possible. Just be honest. Speak with your heart. Maybe they’ll need to hear that you understand them, their worries, to hear that you’re gonna be okay.