Need help with making a difficult choice related to school stuff [vent]

hi! i’ve never used this before, so sorry if i’m doing anything wrong. if i am, please just like uh tell me :thumbs_up:

i’m not really good at talking to people, online or offline, but i’ve had this problem for a couple months and i just wanted to write it down. don’t feel pressured to reply or anything! i just needed to get it out to something and i don’t wanna bother people, so this seemed to work.

for around two or so years, i’ve been attending language classes. it’s an extracurricular thing i’ve enjoyed for a year and a half. it is a group setting type of class, and i’m older than everyone aside from the teacher, but i’m okay with it. it is what it is, you know?

anyway, i’ve had a lot of fun learning the language. it is a bit difficult due to it having unique characters and different intonation systems than i’ve ever learned, but i liked it! all the other kids were nice and the teachers were always patient and kind.

unfortunately, that passage was written in past tense. recently, i had to switch my teachers due to a technical difficulty. up until then, all of my teachers were quite relaxed and kind with me. this one? not… quite the same, i suppose. she is not bad or outright mean, she’s just… very strict, you could say. she’s very aggressive on correcting my intonation and a little bit rude sometimes, i guess.

i’m not blaming her or anything like that. i’m just mad and stressed at myself because of how pathetic i feel. the other kid in the group is really good at this language. she knows intonations really well, way better than i do. she actually recognizes characters. she understands the grammar and knows how to make sentences. and she’s half my age.

i feel so shameful and stupid whenever i get berated for the mistakes i make. i feel horrible cause i know it’s no one’s fault but mines. i should’ve paid more attention beforehand and stuff like that.