New job overwhelmed

Hi all- I started a new job that pays very well and was my top choice. I’m just very overwhelmed. I’m 3weeks in and just honestly feel lost. It doesn’t have a steady job description as it’s corporate - project based and most co workers have a PhD (I have a masters). I somehow passed interview even when I said my faults were certain aspects they have as a requirement. They said I have immense soft skills that they think the other skills can be learnt. I have co workers say they still feel not completely their head on things. But I’ve always been a person who needs to somehow “know it to the best of my abilities” or think they are lying. It was easy for me back in school but now the concepts are not clicking in. It’s like I have brain fog. I’m so hard on myself that I cry at home and even abuse myself. I just cry and panic when I try to learn it I dislike statistics and it’s always been a weak point but now its concepts are in some of my workload. I got A s in school but now I feel it’s gone and my head or brain just can’t get it. I’m abusing myself (skipping meals, actually slapping my face when frustrated, etc). It’s embarrassing to admit but I’m mad at myself for not grasping things quickly, please help I’m going crazy and feel scared I’ll be seen as incompetent

3 Likes