Not sure what the next step is

Ever since I graduated college I feel like I’ve had no direction in life; I just kinda go with the flow and see what happens. So far that’s landed me an internship, a couple jobs, and a decent apartment. And now with my current job, I was looking to get promoted to management but unfortunately I did not get it. There’s still a good chance in the future but I just haven’t been taking it well. I thought for sure I was going to get it and this would be the next step to grow. I really want to stop being so hard on myself and trust that God has something better but it’s incredibly difficult to shake the feeling. And when I feel this way I can’t help but also feel demotivated to work on anything else. And then I feel guilty for being so lazy. In my head I know there’s a positive side to all this but it’s battling with all these negative thoughts that just seem stronger. I’m not sure what to do at this point.

1 Like

Hi friend,

I’m sorry you are having a hard time right now. And I’m sorry that you didn’t get the promotion you were hoping for. Don’t lose hope, friend. I know it sucks when things don’t quite work out how we had hoped when we had hoped it would, but this doesn’t mean that you won’t get it. You know? Not this time, but keep working at it! Don’t give up! Sometimes the rewards we thrive for come at a time we least expect it and not always when we want it. It sucks but it’s okay.

But it’s completely understandable to feel deflated by it.

Working on a positive attitude when we are feeling so defeated and run down can be so hard. I know that all too well. It’s hard to think positive when things feel so crappy or we’re feeling like we aren’t good enough. But we can’t let ourselves dwell in these things for too long or we get stuck in a dark cloud and trap ourselves in a miserable state.