Overwhelmed and Scared

Hey guys. I am a college student (Freshman) who has been here for about two months now. I go to a Christian college and it is great. The school really focuses on emotional health which is unlike the other colleges that I have visited. The problem is that I struggle with depression. Its more of a seasonal issue and it is starting to get bad. I am sleeping all the time and have been getting behind on some of my assignments. I had the chance to talk with some faculty about my story and they pulled out all of this super painful stuff from my past and now all of my crap is right on the surface. I feel like if I don’t deal with it soon I am going to be crushed. I have been reaching out to a few people for support, but something always gets in the way- whether they forget or don’t have time for me. I feel as though I am frantically searching for help, but no one is seeing what is beneath the surface. I feel like I am drowning and no one sees it. It takes a lot for me to ask for help, but I started doing it and people aren’t taking me seriously. I don’t know what to do or where else to turn. I signed up for counseling, but it will take a couple weeks for us to really dive into my issues. So, I feel like I need help now, but I don’t know how to get it and I do not want to do something that I’ll regret because of my pain. I am scared of what I might do if I do not get healed soon. I don’t know what else to do.

2 Likes

Hi there,
I’m a college freshman at a Christian college also, and understand how difficult that can be to be depressed at this time. I’m so sorry you’re going through this, you don’t deserve to feel this way or go through this, and I am truly sorry you feel this way.
I am glad though that you reached out to Heartsupport though! you are so loved and valued, please don’t forget that.