Panic Attack during a work meeting, had an argument with my husband in the morning

Today at 8 AM my husband came home from a work trip. I had a demo meeting in the morning and I was preparing for it when he arrived. He was in a good mood but I was anxious about the meeting. He wanted me to make him breakfast. I snapped. (I shouldn’t have).

He knew I had demo meeting and it is possible that he did not know how stressed I was about it. I apologized immediately and told him I had a meeting and I was stressed. I went a little overboard apologizing because I cried and he immediately became cold (not blaming).

I could tell that I was loosing my confidence. I started to forget what I was supposed to demo, I started to feel light headed. The meeting started and spoiler alert! I bombed it.

I had a panic attack in the middle of the meeting and I started to apologize to my team, during the meeting, about how I let them down. I have been working in this industry for 8 years now. I have never been this flustered or this embarrassed at work.

What am I doing wrong? How do I handle these situations? I’m worried that this will become the norm, my anxiety. I have always thought of myself as strong at least when it comes to my work but today’s incident has shaken to my core.

5 Likes

Hi Mel

I’m sorry you had such a bad experience. I think you just had too much on your plate and didn’t realize it. Maybe if you have an argument with someone or something stressful happens, sit and ground yourself first before you move to something else? Or before a meeting at work or interview etc, do the same. There are a lot of mindfulness grounding technics that can guide you if you need help too.