Progress with a friend that I have been helping

Hey everyone,

This is the first time I have actually posted about some progress I had in some way, so I would like to share this with you guys. A friend of mine who has a lot of depression, anxiety symptoms and even PTSD from a lot of abuse and trauma from the past and I had a suspicion that he could have schizophrenia, because of the maniac episodes he legit would have, and I even recently saw him have one when we talked online, and it was heartbreaking to watch to be honest, he even himself thinks he has schizophrenia. But with the former of the two diagnosis, I didn’t want to say for certain, because I wasn’t sure, and I am not a doctor, but yeah I think that is the case. And to add to it, he lives in a really emotionally shit environment that is anti-mental health and is very judgmental of him if he dares to seek help, whether it could be a hotline or other sources of help. Fortunately, he turned 18,which means he can go to a doctor or seek medical professionals without his parents controlling him or bothering them about it, in fact he booked an appointment with his doctor, and it is scheduled for next week. To tell you the truth, I’m really happy about their progress, because at times I felt that he will not be able to live a good life, but thank god, with perseverance and patience, things are really looking up. I’m really happy and proud of myself(and that is quite rare, mind you) and him, for working together to get him to talk to professionals. I feel like a proud teacher or sibling to be honest, I am legitimately happy that he is going to be a success story you know. The only thing remaining is that he communicates properly with their doctor about their issue, and I did tell him that he needs to tell them his symptoms and what he is feeling, but any advice on how to not fuck this up will be appreciated my friends, he is so close to getting help, I hope we don’t fuck it up at the end.

7 Likes