Quarantine is straining my relationship with my parents

So I’ve been staying with my parents for a few months when quarantine started. I thought everything was good but today I overheard my mother telling my father how much I stressed her out. I honestly didn’t realize that I did. We have some differences in beliefs that apparently stress her out when we talk. I really thought that my parents were proud of me even though I am not exactly like them. It’s starting to feel like they are proud of all the ways that I am like them and are ashamed of everything else. It really stings. I guess I’m lucky that they don’t hate me or anything but it hurts to know that they don’t look at me like an adult. I have an apartment in another state that I’m paying rent for and I’m starting to think it would be best if I headed back out. I’m concerned that being alone will be really bad for me but I don’t want to stress my parents out either. Not sure what to do.

1 Like

Hey friend,

First off, thank you so much for sharing all of this. It’s not easy to share about what’s going on, especially when you’re a situation that makes you feel ashamed about yourself. Shame can be such a destructive and isolating feeling. Yet you are here, taking some time to be vulnerable. Thank you. :hrtlegolove:

It sounds that your parents and you have been through some misunderstandings and, maybe, some honest communication would be needed here. I understand that maybe you heard them discussing by mistake, but now that you’re aware of what they said, it could be positive to talk with them and see how you can all improve the situation together.